2022 Global Year Seminar at World Congress

Wednesday, 21 September 
12:30 pm – 1:45 pm  
Room: 604 

Join experts on Wednesday, 21 September, for a special seminar on the impact of the 2022 Global Year for Translating Pain Knowledge to Practice initiative. Featuring Presentations and Q&A by: 

  • Heike Rittner, MD and Sulayman Dib-Hajj, PhD – 2022 Global Year Co-Chairs
    Introduction and overview of the 2022 Global Year activities 
  • Per Hansson, MD, DMSc, DDS, EDPM
    Lost in translation: Neuropathic pain 
  • Jeffrey Mogil, PhD
    Mistakes Were Made: How to Fix Preclinical Pain Research



Prof. Heike L. Rittner, MD, is clinician scientist and a professor at the Center of Interdisciplinary Pain Medicine at the University Hospital of Wuerzburg. She obtained her medical degree from the Universities of Vienna/Austria and Wuerzburg/Germany. After a postdoc at the Mayo clinic, she completed her residency at the Charité, Berlin, and was board-certified in Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine. Since 2021, she heads the Center of Interdisciplinary Pain Medicine at the University of Wuerzburg with an acute pain service as well as ambulatory, outpatient, and in-patient pain treatment.
In parallel to her clinical work, she pursued her scientific career in understanding inflammatory and neuropathic pain generation and resolution in the peripheral nervous system. She has published over 100 papers in peer-revied journals and receives funds from German and European Funding agencies. Currently, she is the scientific coordinator of the German Research Foundation-funded Clinical Research Group KFO5001 “ResolvePAIN” as well as several healthcare studies.


Dr. Sulayman D. Dib-Hajj, PhD, is a Senior Research Scientist in the Yale School of Medicine and Graduate School, and Deputy Director of the Center for Restoration of Nervous System Function at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in West Haven, Connecticut. He received his undergraduate education from the American University of Beirut, Lebanon, and his PhD from the Ohio State University, Columbus, OH. His research for the past 2 decades at Yale and the VA has centered on elucidating the molecular basis of excitability disorders in humans including pain, with a focus on the role of voltage-gated sodium channels in the pathophysiology of these disorders, and as targets for new therapeutics. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of the National Disease Research Interchange. He serves on the editorial boards of several journals, and review panels for both national and international funding agencies.

Untitled design - 2022-09-16T141408.862

Jeffrey Mogil, PhD, is the E. P. Taylor Professor of Pain Studies and the Canada Research Chair in the Genetics of Pain at McGill University in Montreal, Canada. He has made seminal contributions to the field of pain genetics and has written many reviews on the subject. He is the editor of The Genetics of Pain (IASP Press, 2004). Dr. Mogil also studies sex differences in pain and analgesia, and is known for developing pain testing methods in the laboratory mouse. He is also Director of the North American Pain School (NAPS). He was the neurobiology section editor for the journal PAIN and was chair of the Scientific Program Committee of the 2010 13th World Congress on Pain. Dr. Mogil is a recipient of the Patrick D. Wall Young Investigator Award from IASP, and in 2013 he won the Frederick W.L. Kerr Basic Science Research Award from the American Pain Society.


Per Hansson, MD, DMSc, DDS EDPM, Senior Consultant and Specialist in Neurology and Pain Medicine at the Department of Pain Management and Research, Oslo University Hospital, Oslo, Norway and former Professor of Clinical Pain Research at Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden. He received his dental and medical degrees from the Karolinska Institutet in 1979 and 1986, respectively, and his PhD in physiology at the same institute in 1985. He was appointed associate professor of physiology in 1991 and professor of clinical pain research in 2000. 

Professor Hansson is a reviewer for many scientific journals and has served as co-editor of Pain Reviews, on the editorial board of Pain, Clinical Updates and is a former field editor for clinical medicine/neurology of the European Journal of Pain.  

From 2003-2006 he was President of the Scandinavian Association for the Study of Pain. He served as Honorary Secretary of the European Federation of IASP Chapters from 2008-2011. He has served as external reviewer for the German Network on Neuropathic Pain, INSERM and the Welcome Foundation sponsored London Pain Consortium.