Welcome from the IASP President, Claudia Sommer

A warm welcome to the World Congress on Pain in Toronto! To see and meet the pain community again, after such a long time of only virtual communication, is a great pleasure to me. We are looking forward to five days of intense education, science, controversy, and networking in the modern Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

My sincere thanks go to Prof. Ian Gilron and the Scientific Program Committee that he chaired, for putting together such an excellent program. Whether you are a basic scientist, a clinician, or any other health professional working in the field of pain, or interested in working in this area, there will be plenty of content for you to in this World Congress on Pain. I also thank Colleen Eubanks and her team at the IASP office for all their work in setting up this congress, and in particular for her optimism and confidence that we would be able to have an in-person congress after all, in 2022. The IASP team has been particularly creative in making this congress a memorable experience, I will just mention our congress mascot Bucky and the World Congress T-shirt competition, among other special perks that you should not miss out on.

This World Congress on Pain will also mark the end of my two-year presidency of IASP. I am thoroughly grateful that I had the opportunity to serve IASP in this position, and I thank all my colleague-volunteers at IASP, in the Executive Committee, on Council, and in our many task forces and committees, for the productive time we had. Coming out of the pandemic, or at least out of the pandemic-related restrictions, I could only very recently appreciate the value of meeting like-minded professionals in other parts of the world. Nothing like the personal contact and friendship brings us forward in our aim to collaborate, to work toward our mission to improve pain relief worldwide. I urge you, whether you are a senior pain specialist or a young aspiring professional, to make use of the networking possibilities at this World Congress. Our Canadian hosts, including the Local Arrangements Committee, whom I sincerely thank for all their work, have made every effort to provide an environment where networking and communicating will be enjoyable and fruitful.

At IASP, we aim to bring together scientists, clinicians, health-care providers, policymakers, and the people living with pain, of all ages, from all regions of the world, and from all disciplines. Many young professionals will join us at this World Congress, which makes me very optimistic about the future of pain research and treatment. Join us at this congress, join us at IASP and be part of the large community that strives to reduce the burden of pain!

I wish you an enjoyable and productive World Congress of Pain.
Claudia Sommer, MD, Prof. Dr. med.
IASP President

Welcome from the IASP Scientific Program Committee Chair,
Ian Gilron

Under the leadership of IASP President, Claudia Sommer and on behalf of the entire 2022 IASP Scientific Program Committee, it is an honour and a pleasure to welcome you to the 2022 IASP World Congress on Pain in beautiful Toronto, Canada!

As we all deeply appreciate, the COVID-19 pandemic has confronted us with many unexpected challenges and opportunities that most of us have never seen in our lifetimes. It has been remarkable to see such strength and resilience as many global communities of pain research, management and education have responded with an unyielding determination to continue advancing our shared mission of improved pain relief worldwide. To a large degree, this force of determination and achievement is exemplified by the excellence our presenters and participants at the 2022 Scientific Program.

The 2022 Congress provides many lectures, courses, workshops and various meetings and networking opportunities highlighted by 14 outstanding Plenary Lectures, 70 cutting edge – and sometimes controversial – Topical Workshops, and 20 up-to-date Refresher Courses and innovative Hands-On Workshops. The excellence of this program should be credited to our highly engaged and inspiring IASP members who demand such high quality of evidence, education and collaboration and, importantly, by the careful scientific scrutiny and tireless work of the 2022 IASP Scientific Program Committee:

Kirsty Bannister (UK)
Joletta Belton (USA)
David Bennett (UK)
Stuart Brierley (Australia)
Margarita Calvo (Chile)
Manon Choiniere (Canada)
Bob Coghill (USA)
Thiago Cunha (Brazil)
Karen Davis (Canada)
Ann-Marie Heegaard (Denmark)

Mark Hutchinson (Australia)
Frank Huygen (Netherlands)
Supranee Niruthisard (Thailand)
Tonya Palermo (USA)
Romy Parker (South Africa)
Ted Price (USA)
Michiel Reneman (Netherlands)
Andrew Rice (UK)
Sarah Ross (USA)

Siobhan Schabrun (Australia)
Michele Sterling (Australia)
Nurcan Üçeyler (Germany)
Takahiro Ushida (Japan)
Lene Vase (Denmark)
Jan Vollert (UK)
Shigeki Yamaguchi (Japan)
Claudia Sommer, IASP President (Germany)
Ian Gilron, Chair (Canada)

Many thanks to Colleen Eubanks, CEO; all the staff, and the Council of IASP for all their hard work to promote our collective success and please enjoy the 2022 World Congress on Pain!

Ian Gilron, MD, MSc, FRCPC
IASP Scientific Program Committee Chair